top of page

First drop of the 1090

And it was all going so well !

Tackled some new lanes and was getting a bit over confident. Wet muddy rut looked a bit tricky. I should have stopped and weighed up the options but instead charged through and then tried to ride out the rut half way through. Mistake. Front tyre simply slipped against the muddy edge of the rut and bike went down. Not going so fast that it was much of an issue.

Crash bars and Barkbusters saved the day and luckily I could easily hop off. Switched off, lifted the bike up, weighed up whether to turn around or go on. decided to press on and all worked out OK.

Got to the end of the track and decided to go home. Went passed some previous track done that day and decided to retrace my steps. No dramas on the return journey.

Lesson learned - go exploring if it hasn't raised for a few days or alternatively do the tracks I know I can do even if they are a bit wet.

Here I am shortly before the 'off'. This tight wooded track was good, it was the rut in the next section that threw me.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page